A lot of people believe that all wine is vegan due to the fact that it is made out of fermented grapes. But the truth is that most wines come in contact with animal products as they are being processed. A lot of wine producers use animal products for the purpose of filtering the wine from organic particles that may affect the flavor of the wine, its texture or appearance. Some wine producers use milk protein (casein) for this purpose while others may use other animal based filters like egg whites, bone marrows among others.

Recently, animal friendly fining agents have been introduced to the market as an alternative to the animal based fining agents. Examples of these animal friendly fining agents include plant casein, bentonite clay and silica gel just to mention but a few. Other wine producers also prefer to let nature take its course when it comes to fining their wines. This is by choosing not to filter or fine the wine thereby leaving it to stabilize and clarify by itself. A lot of people have mixed opinions when it comes to either drinking vegan wine or sticking to the traditional wine.

Depending on where one’s opinion lies, the bottom-line is that the difference between the two types is normally not that big especially when it comes to the quality of the wine and the taste of the wine. And since wines are not labeled to show if they are vegan or not, it can be a challenge for the vegan wine drinkers to find wine that is vegan. An easy way to find vegan wine will be to visit a store that specializes in the selling of wines that are natural for example the organic ones or the natural wines. Here you can get employees or owners who are quite knowledgeable when it comes to suggesting vegan wines.

Another way is to find out which companies import mainly irganic and natural wines. At the moment it is very hard for the vegan wine drinkers to find vegan wine because even in most stores, you are likely not to find a wine category that has been broken down into vegan and non-vegan wines. Another easier way of getting vegan wine is just by ordering online whereby it is easier for you to browse through the various types at the comfort of your seat as compared to visiting stores to try your luck. There is hope though since most wine producers are also considering producing vegan wine due to the growing demand. Most people think that all organic wines are vegan friendly. This is not true. Organic wine simply means that the wine has been produced without the use of chemicals.

This means that the wines that undergo fining by use of animal products can also qualify to be organic wines and are found in different regions. And since the vegan lifestyle is gaining popularity by day, many people have vowed to stick to this type of lifestyle thanks to its benefits. Below are some of the benefits that come with drinking vegan wine.

  • The organic or vegan wines tend to have a higher level of resveratrol. This antioxidant is proved to be good for one’s health by acting as an antiaging chemical in the body, it can even extend one’s lifespan and also it has been known to protect against cancer. The advantage that the vegan wine drinkers will have is that they will tend to consume more resveratrol as compared to their counterparts who prefer to take the traditional wines.
  • Producing vegan wines also promotes maintenance of good environment. Traditional wine producers tend to use more chemicals when producing the wine hence some of these chemicals end up hurting the ecosystem that tends to come in contact with these chemicals. On the other hand, vegan wine producers do not use artificial chemicals neither do they rely on animal products when making their wine. This means that they help in the conservation of the environment at the same time producing high quality products.
  • Vegan wines also tend to have less sulfite in them. Some people always tend to feel a headache after taking a glass of wine. This headache is normally as a result of the sulfites which tend to bring up an allergic reaction hence the headaches. The level of sulfites is normally lower in vegan wines as compare to the traditional wines hence reducing this allergic reaction in one’s body. The few sulfites that remain in the vegan wines normally help in preserving the wine.
  • As a result of not adding any other chemicals and preservatives, vegan wines always have the original taste of wine as compared to the traditional wines.
  • Vegan wines also do not carry the risk of causing people health problems due to the fact that they are kept free from chemicals during their entire production cycle right from the cultivation of the grapes to the packing of the finished product.

It is also important to note that they type of wine does not determine if it is vegan or traditional wine. For example traditional red wine will remain so and it won’t become vegan red wine just because of its color. Vegan red wine or white vegan wine become so because of the process they undergo when they are being produced. When it comes to choosing whether to go for vegan wine or remain with your traditional wine will depend on an individual basing on what kind of lifestyle they prefer to lead. For vegans, it is a lifestyle they have chosen and it has its own advantages as discussed above.

The only challenge they face for now is the scarcity of vegan wine. But since most wine producers are willing to start producing vegan wines too, this scarcity could soon be a problem of the past. Though it would be preferable for most wineries to consider producing their wines the vegan way due to the fact that it promotes the existence of a healthy ecosystem and it is also a method that is friendly to animals.

Previous Post Next Post